PDA

View Full Version : Help drilling a grid on an angle

Mayo
06-13-2010, 08:54 PM
If anyone could advise me how to do this - I know it must have a simple solution and I'm not good at manually coding files or math beyond the basics. To me, trig or calculus are like a foreign language.

I agreed to make a thread storage board for my sister.
It's basically a 24 inch by 24 inch plywood board, 1/2 inch thick, with a grid of holes drilled every 1 3/4 inch from center to center. The holes will start off set from the corner by about .595 so that an even number of them will be centered on the board. I figured I can get 14 holes in the Y direction and 14 holes in the X direction. The holes can be 3/8 inch deep. I'll put a piece of dowel rod into each hole. The spools of thread will go onto the dowel rods.

Now the part that has me stumped is, she wants the holes on a slight angle. I figured all I have to do is prop up one side of the board 2 3/4 inches to the top surface of the board. This will give me an angle when I drill the holes.

What I can't figure out is how to account for the board being on an angle so that my Z moves are correct for the hole depth and it doesn't crash into the high side of the board. I think I just need one row of holes in the Y direction, then just move back to Y=0, move X over 1 3/4 inches, then repeat the row of holes again. This would assume the high side of the board is at Y=24

I have an older PRT96 with ver 3.4.27 software.
I do not have part works.
I've created a file in the drill press tool but it doesn't have a way to compensate the Z depth to account for an angled board.

Any suggestions?

curtiss
06-13-2010, 10:54 PM
I think you could run each row one at a time.

0,0 being the start point over the first hole, say z at 1 inch above work.

After the first row, move over the distance to the next row and re-zero.

Run the file again and repeat.