PDA

View Full Version : Just starting out

cbcurtis
07-22-2010, 11:05 PM
I'm just starting out but here are a few of my first bot projects.

curtiss
07-22-2010, 11:33 PM
Very nice, but I am a bit confused how the three chairs fit into the hammock frame. :)

ssflyer
07-23-2010, 12:11 AM
Welcome Christian,

They look great! Did you design them, or did you download the files, like the Jake's chair? I made a couple of the Jake's chairs, and my customers loved them. Quick to cut, but PITA to assemble - at least the first couple of times! You are already hooked on what these machines can do - and it only gets worse! ;) I Love the fact that the chairs are large, but still really comfortable for smaller people!

Here's a picture of my first attempt at one of these:

gene
07-23-2010, 01:17 AM
Very Good, and the first post also. WOW I can tell there will be alot more to come. Keep on postin. Welcome to the club!

cbcurtis
07-25-2010, 01:28 PM
1 of the chairs I made by combining several designs that I've seen in magazines. The other 2 are modified jake chairs. I had limited cedar around, so had to work around that. My wife wanted the back angled further back, etc as well.

cbcurtis
07-27-2010, 08:38 PM
Here is a quick sign I made up for a friend's daughter's birthday party. Insulation foam.

Only had about 4 hours of working time, so is a bit rough imo. A good learning experience and she loved it.

cbcurtis
07-27-2010, 08:41 PM
Made this for father-in-law this weekend. 3/4" MDF. About a 25 minute cutting time. 1/4" downcutting bit.

Any ideas on sanding the mdf where you cut. It was pretty rough, and took a lot of time to get sanded to an acceptable level.

he did the painting.

ckurak
07-31-2010, 12:44 PM
I made a couple of the Jake's chairs, and my customers loved them. Quick to cut, but PITA to assemble - at least the first couple of times!
Christian,

Very nice work. Welcome! And, thanks for sharing. I look forward to seeing more photos.

Ron,