PDA

View Full Version : X, Y, and Z axis grinding and ticking noise



specawn
10-08-2010, 11:25 AM
This problem just started about a week ago. In the middle of a program the x-axis moved about 30" off. That is when we noticed the grinding noise. It is intermittent also. Below is a link to a video I took. At about the 47 second mark it starts operating properly, and then goes back to making the noise at about 1:17. Any ideas?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hJpHARIpjBE

Brady Watson
10-08-2010, 01:22 PM
What version of the control software are you running?

What operating system? (Is this running in Windows or DOS?)

It sounds mechanical, but it probably isn't if it is happening on all axes.

The 1st thing that I would do is re-install the control software (SB2.39 or SB3.4.27) and absolutely re-install the firmware to the control box via the UI command.

If the tool has been upgraded with a 4G box with Gecko drives, then install the latest control software and firmware for Windows from the ShopBot Support Page (http://www.shopbottools.com/mSupport/controlsoftware.htm)

Also, make sure that your PC doesn't have anything running in the background via the task manager.

-B

specawn
10-12-2010, 09:14 AM
The software version is 2.29.
The OS is Windows 98.

I just sent the PC off to get it checked out and we ended up putting a new hard drive in it. So obviously I had to reload the software, recalibrate, etc.

When it got up and running again it continued to do the same thing. We also put a new power supply in the box (the generic pc type power supply, not the proprietary one).

Brady Watson
10-12-2010, 09:27 AM
Did this just start happening recently?

Any chance it took a lightning spike?

What condition are the pinion gears in?

Have you ever replaced the pinion gears?

Have you called ShopBot support?


-B

specawn
10-12-2010, 09:45 AM
Within the last 2 weeks it just started. And it isn't really something that was getting worse, it just started one day. The gears are original, but look in good shape. We don't use the machine very often. Maybe once a month.

It is possible that a lighting spike occurred. There were bad storms around the time the problem started. But I believe the machine was in use after the storms for a day or two......and then the problem started.

I talked with Shopbot and one person thought it was a power supply, but the other guy at shopbot thought it wouldn't be a power supply because it would just stop moving all together. He said it seemed to be a lag in communication and to check all connections,hookups etc.

Would my next option be to just send the control box into Shopbot?

Brady Watson
10-12-2010, 10:23 AM
Yes, that would probably be your best bet. They have the equipment to diagnose and repair.

-B

specawn
10-12-2010, 10:27 AM
Thank you for the help