PDA

View Full Version : Zero Z-Axis Failure

potoff
12-23-2010, 09:39 PM
I'm pretty new to this forum, but I've learned a lot from it so far. I've been running a Shopbot PRTalpha (circa 2004) for a few months.

Within the last few days, something strange has been going on when I go to zero the z-axis with zero plate. The machine will plunge down to the zero plate (like normal), but when the bit hits the plate, it doesn't want to stop. It starts to make 'grunting' noises for about 5 seconds, then claims the 'stop' button was hit.

Then, the carriage will go straight up about 8 inches until it goes so high that the dust collection hits the top rails and forces the machine to stop. This is odd, since I hit the 'stop' button repeatedly, and the carriage ignores my pleas for help and keeps moving upwards.

Any ideas what could be going on? I've was able to zero the machine for the past 6 months with no problems up until now.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

-Matt

gc3
12-23-2010, 09:49 PM
a forum search search will give you all the info you need plus more than you care to read...

Gary Campbell
12-23-2010, 10:00 PM
Matthew...
Here is what is happening:
Z moves down, switch contact is NOT made
machine looses steps and position ( grunting noise)
with postion loss, it doesnt know how far to move up and hits hard stop.

That's what IS happening. There are a number of posts concerning this happening. Some software, some electrical, some machine settings. You need to figure out which one(s) the culprit.

Have you changed anything lately? Does the Z plate light Input 1?

Like Gene says, the answer is allready posted, but we cant troubleshoot it for you.

kra
12-24-2010, 08:43 AM
also make sure your bit is not painted on the bottom keeping it from making contact
I use a bit from one company and they are always painted and I have to sand off the paint to z-zero

chiloquinruss
12-24-2010, 02:19 PM