PDA

View Full Version : Holding down aluminum

mccoy178
02-19-2011, 06:12 PM
Hello,
I'm a high school Tech Ed teacher and I can't figure out how to hold down aluminum to cut it. I want to cut 1/8" aluminum and 1/2" for two different projects. I have never had success holding down aluminum in the past but I believe I had my cut speeds wrong.

Here is my setup: We have a PRT Alpha 120. I am using 3/4" mdf as the base and I do have compressed air available. I do have a two fluted aluminum cutting bit, but we've never used it. I plan on cutting at .05" per pass at 10k rpm, but I don't know how fast to cut.

What specifically can I use to hold the aluminum down so that the inside parts don't "jump" up? I've heard guys using epoxy, but what kind? What am I securing it to? mdf? plywood?

Do I want a soft aluminum like 5025 or something hard like 2025?
I searched the forum for answers and I know they've been asked a bunch, but I'll be danged if I can find what I'm looking for.

Thank you so much for your help, as this one has me stumped.

Gary Campbell
02-19-2011, 06:31 PM
Ben...
I am sure that I am not typical, but here is how I do it. I use a 3/4 MDF platten that is located by my pins and is (sealed on the back) held by vacuum.

For 1/4 and under I do the following:
soak MDF with WD40 (gallon & sprayer not aerosol)
Drill holes in the corners and locate to Vcarved index marks on platten. Screw down
Slather surface with WD40
Now I drill my holes in my part (I usually have these)
Install more screws in part
More WD40
My profiles are cut full depth +.060, .125ips plunge .75 ips move 8-12K rpm Single O flute Belin 1/4"

For thicker materials I use a .050-.060 perpass strategy. Same rpm, faster move speed. Usually takes some fine tuning

I usually have been cutting 6061, other alloys need adjustment

Gary Campbell
02-19-2011, 06:40 PM
Heres a couple pieces from my shop built ATC carousel

Gary Campbell
02-19-2011, 06:45 PM