PDA

View Full Version : Questions about kayak building

ctoddh
10-19-2001, 10:49 PM
I am working on a kayak for duck hunting in flooded timber areas. This needs to be a relatively flat bottom kayak due to the area it will be used in. I am planing to build the ribs out of marine plywood cut on the bot and use cedar strips covered in fiberglass for the shell. My biggest question is about the bottom, since it is a flat bottom boat is there any advantage to using a solid piece of marine plywood or other plywood covered in fiberglass, or should I use the strip cedar on the bottom also. I am not sure about how this would affect the weight and stability. I am new to boat building and was wondering if anyone out there could give me some suggestions or pointers. Thanks,
Todd

Wdyasq@yahoo.com
10-20-2001, 11:48 AM
Gee Todd,

Recommending boats is sort of like recommending girlfriends......

That said, I like plywood. The toughness of plywood is hard to beat. It is also a good topside material. Cedar strip and glass is a fairly labor intensive method and you have the opportunity to bathe yourself in epoxy and inhale cedar dust. This is loads of fun and can invite health problems...OK, I lied about the fun, but this is an opinion.

If I were building a boat for this purpose I would build all plywood. I would use poly-propylene (I think) cloth as bottom sheathing. The boat would be as light if not lighter than a strip-plank boat and more durable.

If you haven't been to Bill Young's site, http://www.seasidesmallcraft.com/ it is worth your visit. I would also visit WoodenBoat's catalogue and see what plans they had to offer.

And, when you buy the plywood, buy the "Good Stuff". The imported metric plywood built of Occume or some other good wood, properly built and glued is, in my opinion, far superior to the fir plywood sold as "marine plywood".

Ron Brown - wdyasq@yahoo.com (mailto:wdyasq@yahoo.com)

If Stupidity got us into this mess,