PDA

View Full Version : Candy Makers? Mold making for candy or cookies

Mayo
10-03-2011, 11:02 PM
I'm wondering if anyone here has tried making molds for candy or cookies?

I've never done it before but here's what I've done so far.
(Please feel free to comment and voice opinions good or bad.)

I wanted to try and create a unique shape of chocolate so I cut the shape
into some 3/4 inch thick MDF. I realize MDF probably has adhesives and mildewcides and who knows what else in it, so I put three coats of shellac on the entire mold to seal it.

The reason for shellac is because once dry, shellac is basically considered non toxic and food safe.

The mold is 1/2 inch deep and I cut it with a flat bottom bit.
Although I intend to coat the mold with something like Pam vegetable spray, I'm wondering if the sharp edge inside the mold is going to be a problem. Maybe I should have used a ball nose bit?

Also because of the straight bit, the sides are 90 degrees, so the chocolate may not come out of the mold as easily as if the sides had a taper.

I was thinking of just melting the chocolate in a double boiler in a measuring cup with a spout, then just pour it into the mold. Then I was going to put the mold into the fridge or just let it air cool until it hardens. Then flip it over and hopefully out pops the chocolate in one (uniquely shaped) piece.

If the chocolate doesn't work, my other options were something like peanut brittle or cookie dough. With the cookie idea I would just flour the mold and press the dough into it. Then flip over onto a baking sheet and bake until done.

If the basic idea seems like it could work, I'll probably make the next mold from polyethylene cutting board material.

steve_g
10-03-2011, 11:52 PM
Mayo: