PDA

View Full Version : PARTNER

leinadi
12-09-2007, 07:48 PM
I started my woodworking business in Sarasota, FL, more than 6 months ago as a part time job, hoping that one day I can go full time.I invested 30K,rent 1200 sft. unit, bought all the necessary machines, a ShopBott and built and set up a showroom. But just after, I realized my weakness – SALES – area where I don’t have too much experience, time, connections and enough money to do a good marketing. Today I am still working full time for somebody else. I am an engineer with over 20 years experience pertaining to manufacturing, drafting, CNC programming, engineering, project management (residential, commercial, store fixture, boat industry) in architectural woodworking industry and I am looking for a partner/ associate or any kind of partnership .

Thanks,
Nick

knight_toolworks
12-10-2007, 11:51 AM
I think for most of us the marketing is the hardest part.I know I can use help there too.

jamesgilliam
12-10-2007, 07:03 PM
Marketing is the hardest part without a doubt. The best think I can tell you is to get things you have made into the public eye, or into their hands. I started with small v-carved plaques and a couple other things, and now have done a few larger sign jobs, alot of cabinets, and some research manufacturing for some different people on their projects.

jhicks
12-15-2007, 10:56 AM
Clearly there are complimentary skills required to make a business move in a positive direction. While efficient design and implementation are key requirements, sales and marketing are equally critical requirements.
Not often that a great designer will be a great sales person or visa versa.
So one needs to decide how to handle this but there is a natural catch 22. Sales people focus on winning orders to make a commission or markup and need viable products or services to make their income.