PDA

View Full Version : Shopbot Code Geeks - request for unique file

Mayo
06-19-2012, 06:47 PM
I've tried editing two existing Shopbot files to come up with what I'm trying to do but I get lost in the code and I'm not experienced enough doing this to actually understand what I'm doing.

What I want to accomplish sounds relatively simple. And I think it could be a useful program for a lot of Botters.
I want to make the Shopbot report to me what my actual material thickness is, instead of having to use a micrometer on my material.

I've looked at the Z-Zero program and the Probe program, and they both contain parts of what I think would be necessary, but they also contain a lot of unnecessary code.

Here's how I think the program should work:
Find table surface Z location (possibly just using the existing Z-Zero program).
Put material on the table.
Move X and Y and Z to new position over the material surface.
Move Z down until Z-Zero plate is contacted.
The Z location is now the material thickness plus the Z-Zero plate thickness.
Subtract the Z-Zero plate thickness from this new Z location.
Display this number on screen - it should be the material thickness.
Esc or Enter to close file.

Here's what I copied and pasted from the Probe file into a new file
but frankly it's incomplete and laughable to anyone who really knows this Shopbot code. I'm sure it's not going to do what I'm expecting. If anyone wants to tinker with this or write something much simpler from scratch that would be cool.

'Initialize

SA, 'absolute increment mode
SL, 'clear all variables in memory
&zmax=-2 'maximum probe depth
&surfacetol=2 'change to greater than approx. material thickness

'Get user-entered table surface position

&safeclear = 1

INPUT "X Starting Position ->" &xstart
INPUT "Y Starting Poistion ->" &ystart

'Moving to start location
JZ, &safeclear
MS, .75, .6

'Check to make sure Z-Plate makes contact
PAUSE .1
IF %(51)=1 THEN GOTO CONTINUE1
'Z-Plate Not Working ----> EXITING !