PDA

View Full Version : Kids Step Stool

NeathawkSigns
09-16-2012, 01:54 PM
I made 3 of these for my 2 year old daughter. I think you can fit 5 on a sheet of plywood. I eventually tried this on pre-finished 3/4" Birch plywood using a compression bit. This is my first attempt at using the Fillet function. The stool uses no glue and is actually quite sturdy. The idea was to make something for my daughter that had something for her to hold onto.

I've managed to get a good cut on the top and bottom veneer of the pre-finished plywood using the .25" compression bit, but there is a lot of tear-out in the middle of the plywood. Anyone have any suggestions? The local toy shop in town is interested and would like to carry these, but there is a lot of work in sanding right now so it really isn't cost effective to make them yet. I ran the bit at 200 inches/min (3.33 Inches/sec) .5" deep on the first run, then .25 inches deep on the second run (2 passes) at 12,000 RPM. If I remember correctly, this was suggested by Onsurd (the manufacturer of the bit).

Thanks!
Ryan

chiloquinruss
09-16-2012, 08:48 PM
That is just about the neatest kids product I've seen in a long time. I can invision a whole line of critters, deer, elk, buffalo, elephant, and even hippo's! Very cute and very cool! Well done.

As far as tearout I cut a bit of cabinet grade but i always just use a down spiral. I always leave a skin and then a final cut if both sides are to be exposed. I seem to get minimal tearout especially in the middle part. Russ

genek
09-16-2012, 10:37 PM
I made 3 of these for my 2 year old daughter. I think you can fit 5 on a sheet of plywood. I eventually tried this on pre-finished 3/4" Birch plywood using a compression bit. This is my first attempt at using the Fillet function. The stool uses no glue and is actually quite sturdy. The idea was to make something for my daughter that had something for her to hold onto.