PDA

View Full Version : should I pull the trigger?

Cameron Tiede
04-07-2013, 05:43 PM
Well I'm trying to figure out if this is the machine for me and If I should pull the trigger. I'd like some advice from desktop owners. I have it narrowed down between a shopbot desktop and a camaster stinger. I have no experience with a CNC but have been doing a lot of reading. I was first interested in the buddy but it really seems like more machine than I need and is more than I'd like to spend. It seems shopbot has better customer service and a more robust online community which I do appreciate.

I am primarily looking to cut small pieces in hardwoods that are any where from a 1/4 inch up to 2 inches in thickness. I'd like to cut veneer as well with a donek tool. How well will this work on a desktop unit? Some of the pieces I plan to cut will be very small.I am concerned with the limited z travel (4 inches correct?) - if I figure this out right it will leave no space for a spoiler board under the piece being cut if My wood is 2 inches thick as I will need 2 inches above for the bit. I want pieces to be cut very smooth and accurate. this may be where the stinger has an advantage as there is an extra inch of z travel.

Are there any advantages with a spindle vs a router besides reduced noise level and longevity? Does it cut any more accurately or quickly?

I am designing much of my work in adobe illustrator and will need to bring it into the machine software is this difficult to do?

Any thoughts from all of you out there would be much appreciated.

jerry_stanek
04-07-2013, 06:31 PM
take a look at the Buffalo Nickel that Ryan did and see the detail. I think you would do good with one

http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/showthread.php?t=14701

CNYDWW
04-07-2013, 08:30 PM
All good questions.

The spindle does leave a better result. Things is, what are you going to do with it. 3d carvings? 2d cuts?