PDA

View Full Version : Folding Chairs

bbrozo
06-28-2013, 06:01 PM
Here are some folding chairs I recently made. The Shopbot was used for cutting all of the components. I made 4 of them, two for the front porch and two for the back porch. It's my first attempt at making chairs but worked out nicely I think.

Two challenges for this project were the "folding" aspect and attaching the seat securely to the chair (this always seem to be the weakest link for folding chairs).

They are made of hickory and finished with Tried & True Varnish Oil/Danish Oil (2:1). I agonized some over using T&T on chairs that would be outside but both porches are protected from rain and sun so decided to go with it.

Thanks for looking...
Bill

steve_g
06-28-2013, 07:05 PM
Very nice Bill... They look like they have their roots in civil war campaign chairs. Did you make your own design or find them elsewhere?

SG

bbrozo
06-28-2013, 07:30 PM
Actually, we had the original chair on the back porch for several years. No one ever sat in it because, quite frankly, it didn't look too solid and leaned a little to one side. But then, about 4 years ago, I finally sat in the chair and was quite surprised how comfortable it was and remarked to a family friend that I was going to duplicate the design.

I don't know for sure where the original chair came from but we used to go to alot of auctions and I think it was thrown in with one of the lots we bought. So, I don't really know where it originated. And, the original chair seat was actually a rug piece. So, you can imagine that it really wasn't very pretty. But, I liked the contour of the armrests, the back rest was quite comfortable with support in just the right spots.