PDA

View Full Version : Student Needs Help

Sherwood HS Fab Lab
09-24-2013, 11:26 AM
I am a student in high school attempting to learn G coding for a plasma cutter and my teacher says it is possible to write the code in something like a word document and somehow have the program partworks read it. Can anyone tell me if this is actually possible and if so, how I do it. This is the first time we have attempted this so no one knows what to do. A work around would also be acceptable. For reference the coding I am talking about looks like this

G01 X1 Y1
G01 X4 Y1
And then it continues.

dana_swift
09-24-2013, 12:23 PM
John- a "word" type program is usually designed to write letters and documents, they are a horrible choice for writing instructions for machines. These programs are designed to carefullly control the apperance of a printed version of the document. This has no value to a CNC machine.

The kind of program you need is a "text editor", which is a very different beast, it can edit raw strings of letters, which may be words, but dont need to be. These programs have no ability to include photographs, or other such nice things that business documents need. The final appearance of the text depends on factors outside the control of the text editor. Editing for this post is done in "text" mode. Formatting depends on your browsers interpretation of the text.

There are a lot of file extensions that are "text" files with nothing in them but english text, however it is designed to be readable by both humans and computers. G code files are one example of this kind of file, there are thousands of others.

I would suggest you download Notepad++ as a good starting point. Its a text editor which is very popular. It will do a nice job on any kind of text file.