PDA

View Full Version : Just Purchased a BT32

Designer
03-02-2015, 07:19 PM
Hello everyone. I am another new owner of a ShopBot BT32. Mine is still being built at this time. I plan to go and pick it up later this month. Until then, I will be studying the training material. I did order the 2.2 hp spindle and Aspire to go with it. I am computer literate and have been designing mechanical products in 3D for more years than I care to admit. I have also been into wood working for about 20 years, yet I still don't know as much about it as many other people do. After saying all of this, I am totally new to the CNC router world. Any words of advice would be greatly appreciated. Like, how the hex am I going to get the thing out of my truck LOL.:)

Tim Lucas
03-02-2015, 07:41 PM
Welcome!!
Best advice, study - study - study, then when you unload it and plug it in you will have so many ideas in your head you wont be able to focus on cutting something:confused:
Tim

scottp55
03-02-2015, 08:06 PM
Congrats and welcome!
Figure out your placement/Dust Collection/wiring/etc. , and watch as may of TJ's classes and Vectric tutorials as you can(You'll be having to much fun later:)
http://www.shopbottools.com/mSupport/tutorials.htm

http://support.vectric.com/training-material

And maybe try some of Vectrics free projects to get your feet wet?
http://www.vectric.com/cool-stuff/projects.html

I'd join Vectric Forum as well if you haven't already.
You'll love it:)
scott

Designer
03-02-2015, 09:43 PM
Thanks to both of you. I had almost forgot the wiring. Darn. I need another 220V outlet. Thanks for reminding me.

David Iannone
03-02-2015, 10:50 PM
Good time to order some router bits.

chiloquinruss
03-02-2015, 11:43 PM