PDA

View Full Version : Desktop Max

joewink
09-01-2015, 08:16 PM
Thinking hard about the Desktop Max. Exactly what I want, but looking at other kits. If desktop comes in at $7,200 with spindle, that's a large 36x24 kit with spindle price. Then you have the Max. I'm thinking $8,500 possible for that. Thoughts on other machines? Price for new Max?

Brady Watson
09-01-2015, 08:30 PM
Both the DT & Max are great machines. As with anything else, you get what you pay for. I would avoid kits for your 1st CNC (if it is) and take advantage of the free (unheard of) telephone support, warranty and software suite that is included in the price. Be sure to compare apples to apples.

Most CNCs are not turn key like a ShopBot. You have to pay extra for CAD/CAM.

-B

MogulTx
09-01-2015, 10:55 PM
Joe,

I have been working with several different ShopBot's for a few years... I have done the cutting for a couple of the MDO "build it yourself" projects. The last one was for an engineer. I don't know that he ever got his machine together... and that is a shame. SHopBot is pretty unique and the support is an amazing "feature" and the other one is this forum.... you really could not find a better place to get into CNC routing. ( And none of us will get a commission when you get a machine. We don't care. We really do like the company, the machines, the support and the people around here that share ideas, tips, solutions.... This IS where you want to be.

scottp55
09-02-2015, 08:39 AM
Joseph,
Two and a half years ago I was in the same boat as you, and my Dad asked me to look at a Chinese CNC on EBay
Knew NOTHING about CNC's, but quickly talked him out of it and started scoping out other brands. Shark/Yellow/Blue etc.