PDA

View Full Version : New business feasible

jharrison@precast.com
05-19-1999, 01:11 AM
I am interested in hearing from folks who have started a new business with their ShopBots. I am considering starting one but am not sure that I'll have the market to pay off the initial expense in a reasonable amount of time. My pappa always said... "son, never work for somebody else" and I've always dreamed of owning my own business.

FWIW I don't have any problems with the technical side of manufacturing, thats what I do for a living now (mechanical engineer working in production management.) I'm more concerned with the market for ShopBot made items.

Any tips from some of you that have done it? Is it worth it- can I support my wife and family?

Thanks!

Joa

arthur_ross
05-19-1999, 11:54 AM
Joa-

There are lots of people making a living doing machine carved signs for businesses. A carved 4 by 4 foot sign, painted and guilded (gold leaf) can go for upwards of $2000.00. You do need to have design skills, and the software to generate the fancy 3D cutting effects that buyers want (ScanVec EnRoute or CADlink EngraveLab, about $2500.00). Check out SignCraft magazine for some great examples, or the Precision Board (Coastal Enterprises) Web Site for various info about carving and painting.

If you don't have some artistic ability or leanings, don't force yourself into this profession. I'm an engineer, I design and build signmaking machinery ( http://www.signsontap.com ), but I know that I don't have the same raw artistic "vision" or fine arts training that drives signmakers

Good Luck!
Arthur Ross
Deltamation Inc.

bruce_clark
05-20-1999, 12:53 AM
Arthur,

Amen. I know a lot of people who got into the
sign business thinking that they could compete
because "the software does all that stuff". Well,
thats great until the guy next door get the same
software then you no longer have _ANY_ competetive
advantage over your competition. Matter of fact,