PDA

View Full Version : Facets in Rhino --> VCarve Import

joelschuman
12-12-2017, 06:21 PM
First time I've tried importing a Rhino 3D model into VCarve, a simple form for vacuum molding. In Rhino it's a completely smooth NURBS object. When I brought it into VCarve, it looked like it had facets, but I assumed those were due to simplified rendering. So I cut it. Big surprise! The cut part had facets, just like the preview.
I assume that VCarve meshes the NURBS object on import. The mesh was too big for the VCarve smoothing filter, so I went back to Rhino and exported as STL with very fine mesh setting. Smoother after import, and even better after using the smoothing filter.
It's workable as is, but as a VCarve 3D newbie I'm wondering if I missed something obvious. Is there a better way?http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=30953&stc=1http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=30954&stc=1http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=30955&stc=1

Brady Watson
12-12-2017, 06:54 PM
Joel,
It's true WYSIWYG when it comes to the 3D view in VCP/Aspire. If it looks faceted, and the toolpath previewer shows it, it's 4 real dawg :p

Generally speaking in Rhino, outputting an STL (always use binary...it's smaller on disk) at .001" resolution is usually adequate. Only when you have small, highly detailed geometry like a relief, would you need to go finer than that. It's usually a set it & forget it thing.

You may want to review the Rhino Help covering STL I/O (http://docs.mcneel.com/rhino/5/help/en-us/index.htm#popup_moreinformation/polygon_mesh_detailed_options.htm)