PDA

View Full Version : Phantom Problem

old_post_frank
03-19-2003, 09:24 PM
I hope this is not a duplicate of an existing thread, I could not find another that matched. Here goes...
I am running a PRT96 that I recently purchased used. As I understand from ShopBot, it is an early control board. I am still learning, so I am prone to mistakes. I first noticed a problem with my Z-axis losing its zero reference. I always zero to the top of the spoilboard and then cut to zero. Occasionally, the tool bit would go below to -.120 when told via the cut file to go to -.010. It seemed to be quit intermittant, but when I ran the z-zero routine, all was fixed. Today, I notice that the pattern that I had been running successfully for some time, was now cutting incorrectly. The stepping in the Y direction was good, but too short in the X direction. I checked the scaling numbers and found that the X number was different than the recommended number. It had changed to 120. All this info leads to a basic question: Does this information get stored in memory for use by the program, or does the program read the value from hard storage (disk) whenever it needs it? In other words, could noise pulses generated by the stepping motors or the router couple to the control board or program space in the PC and cause this value to change dynamically? I have now run ground leads to each of the motors and then to a water pipe that is near the machine just in case. Tomorrow I will purchase a shielded serial cable to reduce the coupling on that interface. Does any of this make sense to you experienced Botters?? Thanks in advance...Frank

windsor@muskoka.com
03-19-2003, 10:00 PM