PDA

View Full Version : CNC Pressure Foot

tri4sale
06-28-2019, 01:49 PM
Looking at adding a pressure foot to my ShopBot for cutting some small pieces, and this is only one I've found:

http://www.widgetworksunlimited.com/CNC_Pressure_Foot_br_for_ShopBot_PRS_p/cnc-pressure-sb_prs.htm

2 questions, first has anyone used this pressure foot and if so what are your thoughts?

Secondly, does anyone know of any other pressure foot designs out there?

thanks

bill_l
06-28-2019, 03:01 PM
I've been using it for about 18 months. I double side machine numerous small parts with plenty of small holes out of 4' x 8' x.125" sheets of polycarbonate. The parts are tabbed but testing with both up and down cut bits without the pressure foot resulted in too much flex and damaged parts. The pressure foot was the only solution and it works great.

knight_toolworks
06-28-2019, 04:07 PM
been using it for years. you still need some way to hold the sheet in place. I use it keep thin plastic from lifting up when I cut it. but there are other methods depending on what your cutting. what I dont like is the time it takes to get it up and running. depending on the material sometimes you can use a straight bit.

coryatjohn
06-28-2019, 06:37 PM
Three words: Double Sided Tape.

knight_toolworks
06-28-2019, 09:31 PM
Three words: Double Sided Tape.
well unless it is a 4x8 sheet. a compromise is to spray one side of the material or table with strong contact glue and then vacuum it down. that works well but it is a bit messy and it can get expensive. I use the foot when ti is the only solution.

Chuck Keysor
06-29-2019, 01:00 AM