PDA

View Full Version : Desperate newbee

dogfuel
06-17-2004, 09:57 AM
On larger peices, my shopbot works fine, but I can't cut 'good' small curves. This happens in a variety of material, with a variety of bits over a range of speeds.

Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions - attached is a pic of a 6"x3" ellipse that demonstrates the issue.

Joe

dogfuel
06-17-2004, 10:00 AM
Here's the pic.

Thanks

cnc_works
06-17-2004, 11:22 AM
Well, I'm far from an expert here, but it looks to me as if your problem occurs during a direction change on an axis. I would suspect too much play maybe in your rack & pinion. Is your backlash spring properly adjusted? You might even be able to grab your z axis and stress it in one direction or another and feel the play.

srwtlc
06-17-2004, 12:19 PM
Check your set screws on the pinions to be sure that they are tight and holding on the flats of the motor shaft. They could be slipping at each change of direction.

gerald_d
06-17-2004, 12:34 PM
A supplement (http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/cgi-bin/discus/show.cgi?tpc=312&post=6946#POST6946) to Scott's post.

Brady Watson
06-17-2004, 12:41 PM
Joe,
The elipse itself, what software did you use to create it?

What are your ramp speeds set at?

What cutting speeds have you tried? Be specific XY/Z.

1st thing I would do is make sure that my control box is getting a timing value of at least 45 when starting up the control software. If you are using the DOS version, it will be right there when firing up. If you are getting low numbers, exit the software, turn off the control box and try it again. If the machine doesn't sound quite right, chances are you have a low number...and this affects stepper performance.