PDA

View Full Version : Z-axis moves down when it jogs

jfhammond@kwic.com
11-23-2002, 06:31 PM
I just bought parts wizard to help me use the bot and I wrote a toolpath that looked great on screen. I then took it to the shop and tried to air cut the file after previewing it as correct. The bot seems to creep down as it moves to the first cut position. Previous to this it worked on another file that was exported from Corel Draw.

Is there a setting that causes the Z axis to move even though the program doesn't have a command line in it that asks it to do so?

Another thing, when the z-axis goes up, the screen registers a positive number.
The SK command does similar things. The pg up command actually makes it go down.

I did reverse the wire last time cause it cut mirror images but maybe I screwed something up?

I am a newbie sooo... be gentle.

Thanks for any help,

Jim innerbayboats

tlempicke
11-23-2002, 06:56 PM
Reverse wires 4 and 5 on the plug from the Z axis motor into the board. This will make the motor run exactly opposite from what it is doing now. As the Z axis goes down the number on the screen should decrease. Your tool is doing just the opposite.

My guess would be that somehow you have learned to put backwards information into PW in order to make it cut. The normal order of things is to use the top of the work as the zero point. Then a cut that is 1/4 of an inch deep would be shown as -.250 on the screen read out. Any time the tool is above the surface of the work piece it should show as a positive number. Thus when you have a clearance of 1/2 inch the screen should be showing .500.

Whe you press the page up key while using the keyboard the tool should move up.

tlempicke
11-23-2002, 06:59 PM
Ya know I just read my own message and need to clarify it a bit.

Remember that -.300 is LESS than -.200.

bill.young
11-24-2002, 10:06 AM
Hi Jim,