PDA

View Full Version : Trying to locate tool

terrye59@sbcglobal.net
01-19-2006, 11:17 PM
Newbie here. Bot is together(prt 96) and all has gone well so far. Loaded up sb3 and the firmware
did ok,but now the control flashes 2 yellow
screens,(trying to locate tool) and locks up.
not sure where to look or what to look for.
serial connection seemed to work fine on the
firm ware install.any help would be appreciated.
thereis a wireless network card in the pc. could that be intefering with communication?
Thanks
Terry
user name and password wouldnt work

richards
01-19-2006, 11:47 PM
Terry,

I'm not at the shop, so I can't look at my settings; however, on my Alpha, when I get the "trying to locate tool" message, it simply means that there is no communication between the computer and the controller card. Check the serial port setting on your computer to see which serial port is being used (my Alpha uses a USB to Serial Bridge that shows up as port 4 on the computer). Be sure that you've set the proper port number and baud rate with the VI command.

In my experience, when I've had that particular problem after loading new firmware, I've had to use the VI command to change the port number.

TERRY E (Unregistered Guest)
01-20-2006, 12:08 AM
Thanks Mike.I think i need to unistall and reinstall.As soon as I open sb3 now,it locks
up the computer,looking for tool. control box
on or off and serial connected or not,doesnt
make any diff.
I cant even get to the V commands.
Terry

jim_ludi
01-23-2006, 09:51 PM
Terry,
Make sure you downloaded the software for the PRT, not the Alpha!

TERRYED (Unregistered Guest)
01-24-2006, 09:07 AM
I HAVE BEEN HAVING TROUBLE GETTING BACK ON HERE.
NANCY SAID SHE IS ON IT. I PUT A NEW COMPUTER ON THE BOT AND THE COMM PROBLEM SOLVED.GUESS ALL THOSE OLDER COMPUTERS I WAS TRYING HAD A PROBLEM