PDA

View Full Version : So many questions

richard_saylor
10-26-2009, 01:42 PM
I'm new to cnc but not to computers, programming and woodworking. I'm having sporadic errors with a new PRS Standard Buddy and am trying to pin them down to owner/operator, programmatic, controller and/or electrical error.
I was getting the often mentioned 'Missing com return' error. Installed 3.6.10, no change. Tested transmission efficiency, 69%, installed hub, %74%...no change. Brought in another computer with XP Home, was using Vista, solved the problem, for now. Although, tested transmission efficiency, 55%. So, from that exercise, I assume that efficiency is a red herring in regard to this problem.
But it goes on....
Now, when I run a simple partfile generated from Partworks, if I turn on the PC router BEFORE the Pause 2 line, execution stays on the Pause line until I turn the router off and then it resumes processing the file. I assumed this had something to do with voltage drop to the system, so I isolated the router on another circuit, same results. Of course, like any good problem, it isn't consistant.
Other questions are, in the same Partworks generated sbp files, there are commands that I can't find a reference for. C#,90 and TR,16000 and SC,1,1. The second command opens the spindle speed window so I assume it is proprietary to the Alpha or a spindled bot? I comment it out. I can find no reference to the others in the Command Reference file. I've been commenting out these commands, thinking that they may be the source of the problem.
I love the idea what this machine may someday do for me, if and when I figure all this out. Meanwhile, I'm tentative about putting an expensive bit in the router and some nice wood on the table.

tmerrill
10-26-2009, 02:06 PM
Richard,

Regarding the unknown commands in the .sbp file. It sounds like you are saving the toolpaths using the wrong post processor for your machine. You should be using ShopBot(arc)(inch).

Tim

richard_saylor