PDA

View Full Version : BobCAD or ArtCAM Pro

ron_moorehead
12-16-2005, 02:25 PM
I am new to CNC work and have been looking at software, right know I think the software that has come with the shopbot will do what I need it to do, but at some point I would like to be able to do some 3D work, maybe scan a photo and then carve it in some wood. Any ideas or help on what works and does not. I downloaded the trial of BobCAM and now they have started to call me and have a one time offer of the current version for $700.00 vs $3000.00 normaly, it htis good or ok price.

Thanks...

jay
12-16-2005, 03:02 PM
Ron, I use ArtCAM and would highly recommend it. I have known folks with BobCAM that have not been too happy.

Jay

jsfrost
12-16-2005, 04:01 PM
I own Bobcad. Never use it.

don_ask
12-16-2005, 05:18 PM
I also own Bobcad! Money down the drain. I never use it.

Brady Watson
12-17-2005, 12:54 AM
Add me to the list....wasted $$$ on BobCAD. Now use ArtCAM Pro. The cost differential is justified since ArtCAM doesn't call me every week trying to get me to upgrade...

-Brady

ilp
02-03-2006, 12:14 PM
Used BobCad for one part, never used it again... I consider it money spent unwisely.
ArtCam is a complete solution for any 2 1/2, or 3D work I have attempted.

joe
02-03-2006, 08:09 PM
Add me to the above list.

btroupjr
02-06-2006, 09:04 AM
I purchased BobCad and BobArt. I found it exceptionally powerful. It is far more powerful than my copy of Artcam Insignia, on the CAD side. However, The ArtCam software is easier for me to use doing everyday items (Mostly 2D or 2.5D) since I am already very familiar with using Part Wizard. Tool Path creation is easy on both softwares. I have no complaints about either software on the CAM side.