PDA

View Full Version : New User of Part Wizard

wayne_g
08-11-2003, 02:35 PM
I am a High School Crafts teacher who has had a Shopbot in the classroom for 2 years. It came with the Vector software. My students primarily like to make signs. The students have been using the included typsetter with good results, but would like to lay out signs of more than one line with the graphics included. They are not CAD proficient - only taking a basic crafts class. We bought Part Wizard and Vector Mega Art when it came out, but every time I try to use it I get frustrated and give up. If anyone has made up simple step by step instructions for laying out signs and cutting them with a V bit with Part Wizard, I would appreciate the help. We also have used an old version of Corel Draw with Vector Mega Art. The problem with that approach is the number of conversions and steps involved in reaching a final product and the fact that the fonts seem to be cut in outline rather than fully cut out. Thanks for any help

bjwat@comcast.net
08-12-2003, 11:22 AM
Wayne,
When V-Carving in PartWizard, you have to pay attention to a few things. First, make sure that you have enough material so that the bit will not go through the bottom skin. You should make adjustments in your tool library to accurately define the tool you will be using. Secondly, you can only v-carve text that is in red...as I'm sure you already know.

Don't give up on your Mega Art collection. Import EPS files by going to File-Import Vector Data. Once you have it on the screen you can edit it by ungrouping it or using the Transform function.

When using Corel, make sure that you have the latest patch, if applicable to your version by checking the download area. Also, when you save your creations, make sure that you save them in .AI format. This seems to be the best way to pull things in from Corel.