PDA

View Full Version : Sketchup

artisan
03-13-2006, 11:06 AM
This is a piece of software that I have found absolutely invaluable over the years. I use it for all my presentations and I spoke briefly of it at last years jamboree. It's perfect for conceptualizing your ideas....is more intuitive than Rhino (which I use and love) and now with version 5, has added some pretty neat tricks.... mainly the ability to export files in .3ds and .dxf among others. I just built and cut a complicated quoin piece for a local architectural firm....and it performed flawlessly. I recommend this program for all Shopbotters working in 3D....and even if not, it's the best presentation software I know of for selling your ideas. $499.00 at Sketchup.com....with a 30 hour real time free test drive....it's worth a look....D

mzettl
03-13-2006, 09:56 PM
Darrell, I've been using Sketchup for about 2 years, and I agree with everything you have said. It is the easiest to learn design software that I have ever used. Additionally, the User Forums on the Sketchup website are very active, informative, and supportive.

Although I do not currently own a ShopBot, I am considering purchasing one. I have thought about the possibility of using Sketchup as my 3D design program, but have found very little in either the ShopBot or Sketchup forums that addresses this option. I'm encouraged that you have been able to design in Sketchup and export to your cutting software. I have experimented with exporting from Sketchup to a trial version of MilWizard, and it appears to work, but since I don't have a CNC router, I've not been able to actually cut anything. Exactly what software are you using?

I would urge anyone who designs in 3D to have a look at this software. You can download a full working version of the software and use it free for 8 hours (program time) to help you decide if it will suit your needs.

Matt

rookie432
03-14-2006, 09:02 AM
Matt and Darrell,