PDA

View Full Version : Can I use the VI command to cut a Arch in z-plane?

mike_boller
05-27-2009, 08:32 AM
Hello all, I'm a rookie here and I need to cut a arch in the z-plane. I've written a program to cut the shape by iterating arches, but to make them smooth I need to make the steps very small. This will take a long time, have the bit proceed very slowly and potentially cause the plastic that I'll be cutting to melt.

It seems that I can swap the x and z axes and then program CA to cut in the z-plane. Is this a reasonable idea?

Additionally, will it be possible to zero the z-axis, swap the axes and then transfer that zero to the x-axis?

Any thoughts will be very appreciated and I apologize if I've missed this info in another thread.

Regards,
Mike

ken_rychlik
05-27-2009, 11:53 AM
The software to make this happen would not be all that expensive compared to all the time you will have involved and possibly messing up your machine. If you describe how big of curve you need someone can reccomend which software. If it is not to wide of a z curve the partworks program should do a ramped flute that may work for you.
Kenneth

mike_boller
05-27-2009, 12:20 PM
Kenneth,
Thanks for the note. For the current project, iI need a series of curves (a transition from 1/4 of a circle to a flat surface) with the deepest curve being about 4 inches wide and a little over an inch deep. The shallowest is about 7 inches wide.

If it helps with the software selection, I'm looking to be able to precisely define the parameters, not just make an approximate shape.

Thanks again!
Mike

tkovacs
05-27-2009, 12:38 PM
Hmm...
Are you proposing to literally physically swap the x and z axis cables? I would not do that.
I think there was a application on the shopbot site that would swap two axis in the sbp file.

Terry

mike_boller
05-27-2009, 12:57 PM
Terry,