PDA

View Full Version : New User Needs A Boost

bwood2800
04-17-2003, 12:31 PM
I am an engineer for a furniture manufacturing company. We are installing a cnc next week. I am hoping to get a quick start by using this forum. Any help is greatly appreciated.

We draw our products in AutoCAD 2000 and wish to import .dxf files into Part Wizard; however, before I go there, I wish to complete a very simple part.

I would like to draw a 15" x 6" x .75" drawer face and machine two grooves (1/2" wide x .25" deep) along both ends of the drawer face (parallel to the 6" side - inset 1").

Can anyone help me get a quick first lesson with this software? I currently only have the demo program, but I hope I can learn to do the above with it.

I have machined a groove; however, I couldn't tell if it was correct or not, because it did not display a finished piece with the groove in it. Simply a rectangle at the depth of the cut, which is parallel to the work-piece surface.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Brent

kfitzgerald@graphicmetalsinc.com
04-17-2003, 12:57 PM
Brent,

As an engineer, you are overqualified to use Part Wizard and ShopBot. Just kidding. Software and tool are very simple to learn. You will figure it out very quickly.

But I must ask; why do you want to machine this on ShopBot? Seems like a table saw or a table-mounted router would be much more productive.

Regards,

Kevin Fitz-Gerald
Project Manager

Graphic Metals, Inc.
P.O. Box 31
715 East Perry Street
Bryan, OH 43506
Voice 419-636-5757
Fax 419-636-6404

kfitzgerald@graphicmetalsinc.com (mailto:kfitzgerald@graphicmetalsinc.com)

CNC laser cutting up to 14 ga steel
CNC routing wood and plastic

bwood2800
04-17-2003, 02:26 PM
Kevin,

Actually, the machine is a table-mounted router that is controlled numerically. We are using the Part Wizard to write our programs quickly by converting from our .dwg AutoCAD 2000 files.