PDA

View Full Version : Large VCarve Problems

kenakabrowncom
05-30-2009, 12:30 PM
I am a bit of a newbie on this... especially doing something on the size scale of these letters.

As you can see below the scale of this logo is fairly large (by my standards)at 18" in length.

This is being cut into the back of a solid Maple cutting board that I made. The issue is that i am seeing lots of material left and the letters are very very rough as you see in the 2nd and 3rd photo.

Another issue that I have that I have never seen are the noticable burn marks being left by the tool as it changes directions.

I am using a Centurion 120deg 1/4" Vcarve bit. This is the first time I have cut with a 120 so there may be something here I am missing. (VERY LIKELY)

My bot is a 48" Buddy with spindle

The parameters I last tried were:

Included angle = 120
Pass Depth = 0.06
Final Pass Stepover = 0.025
Clearance Pass Stepover = 0.025

Spindle speed = 14K

Feed rate = 3
Plunge rate =1

Any thoughts, ideas? Please don't say sand!

Thanks everyone!

Ken Brown

srwtlc
05-30-2009, 05:25 PM
Ken,

I'd recommend getting a larger diameter 120º bit first (I have a 1.75" diameter one that works well for larger designs). As you can see, the tool has to step down 5 times to get to the final depth and that can cause the waterline marks. The bit geometry may be off a little, although the Centurion bits are generally right on.

It looks like there may be some overlapping vectors in your design or some inside of another on the smoke tail which will cause it to carve inside each closed area. Do you have "Flat Bottom" checked? Final pass to large?

While I love using Centurion's v-bits for carving veneered MDF, I find that I can't use them in solid wood. Their cutting action is more like a scraper and causes tearout in maple and cherry along with burning. You may want to slow the rpm's down a bit. I'm usally around 12000 +/-.