PDA

View Full Version : Rhino3D / RhinoCAM

tree
05-20-2008, 12:09 PM
After all the trougle I had with Bobcad. I took some time off from the search for a good solid modeling program, but I have been looking at a Rhino bundle from Mecsoft recently. I would just like some feedback from any of you guys who are working with this software. So far If seems to be pretty forward and user friendly. I have also been impressed by their tech support from both Mecsoft and Mcneel. Give me the whole spill..... hows tech support, updates, training, anything you guys have come across.

Thanks
Brian

wayne_webb
05-20-2008, 03:45 PM
I'm interested in this as well.

Mike Windsor
05-20-2008, 10:45 PM
I've been using Rhino and visualmill for several years . Both are very powerfull and ( to me ) very intuitive to use . I have the full version of visualmill because I've updated since v4 when the full version was more afordable . If I was looking to buy it again today I'd probably buy the basic version , because I rarely use the high end machining strategies like pencil tracing in the full version .---Both programs have free demos ,and I have found the suport from both companies to be excellent .

btk
05-21-2008, 12:11 PM
I have posted before about RhinoCam.
You can search or look at these links.

http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/messages/20164/14199.html?1154302797
http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/messages/20164/7037.html?1128644934

Brian

voll
05-21-2008, 07:56 PM
I don't know about the CAM plugins etc for rhino, because i haven't gotten that far. Though, after having just way too much trouble modelling with Vectorworks, I took a series of classes in Rhino and am really happy with the software.

I understand it was developed to design battleships, so I figure it can handle whatever we would throw at it.

The documentation and tutorials are very thorough. and as a student I paid under $600 for the whole suite for the full versions that are upgradable; that paid for the classes.

hespj