PDA

View Full Version : Grouping toolpaths?

jfhammond@kwic.com
12-07-2002, 09:13 PM
I am new to this program and have written and placed an arched set of letters. I now want to write a v-carved toolpath for these letters. They are Times NewRoman and are ok for this purpose. I've tried to group the letters and write a toolpath but the only way it will work is if I follow the outline of the letter or inside etc.
I have also tried to write for each letter seperately. If I do that will it save as one file?
Any suggestions would be welcome.

Jim Hammond

jcrumley1@cox.net
12-08-2002, 07:48 PM
V Carve letters in Times Roman are very attractive especially if a program such as Art Cam or Casmate is used.

I don't understand exactly what you mean by writing a program or grouping letters.

When I send a file out to the router, it is ready to go. No grouping is necessary. Perhaps you could let us know more about the process you are going through.

Joe

jfhammond@kwic.com
12-09-2002, 01:07 PM
Ok,
I write a word with TimesNewRoman and and then I re-arrange the letters to fit on the inside of an imported rope circle. This logo now needs a toolpath...so, I hold the shift key down to select all the letters (that are now re-oriented on my screen) and then choose the v-carve icon. The next menu comes up and I choose a 60' v-bit and ask the program to find "centre-line" for the 'chosen' letters.

The program responds by saying only a few fonts can be used to v-carve etc....bla lbla,,, upgrade..bla...bla.

1)Now, this would seem to indicate that the letters cannot be manipulated and grouped after the manipulation and then ....v-carved as one word. .......Any thoughts?

2)I would like to know if I should write the toolpath for the word right away before moving each letter or .....?

3)The "rope" circle that I imported into the drawing would have to be selected and toolpathed after the words were v-carved wouldnn't they?

This brings me to a version of my original question.