PDA

View Full Version : Recommened 3-D software for Shopbot?

Matt (Unregistered Guest)
01-27-2006, 11:10 AM
I've been Shopbotting for about 6 months now, and want to expand my abilites in 3-D carving. So far, all I do is draw 2-D vector art and use the Part Wizard to assign different depths to each vector/area. Now I want to carve complex curves and textures by designing truely 3-D models from scratch and using a roundnose bit for the milling. The work I am doing is pretty varied: not cabinet making and not sign carving, but a little of both so it has to be flexible. The pieces are usually one-of-a-kind, so the design process should be relatively easy. I'm pretty computer savvy, but I don't want to invest in one software package if there is something out there that will dovetail especially well with the Shopbot. It seems like there are a ton of options, and likewise a ton of SB conversion issues. Lets assume (for the moment) that money is not a factor. Any thoughts?

01-27-2006, 03:46 PM
I'm familiar with a lot of graphics programs, and right now I'm drawing on Macromedia Freehand (on a Mac), then importing into Illustrator (on the PC in the shop that my shopbot runs off of). From Illustrator I'm then going into PartsWizard and assigning toolpaths to my vectors. Confusing, I know: it has to do with what software I have on which computer. I plan on getting a PC for the office and installing the new 3-D software into it. I'm not sure what the best method for drawing the 3-D work will be. I suppose I can go from AutoCAD (or something else?) into PartsWizard to generate toolpaths? Those ArtCAM packages are super expensive, but they do have the benefit of being able to generate .sbp files. I just don't know if that one feature makes ArtCAM worth it.

joe
01-27-2006, 10:56 PM
Matt,

Like you, I also investigated 3D programs. Here are my findings.

If you want to go directly to the router as quickly as you can, it will cost.