PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Illustrator to DXF query

johnm
07-12-2005, 04:23 AM
Folks -

The wife and I are working on getting set up with a 48" SB - She does graphics and is conversant in Adobe Illustrator. I've seen some posts here, and want to know what the process is to convert an AI file into a DXF file for SB. If we can use Adobe Illustrator then we/she won't have to get (I hope) Art CAM, saving a big chunk of $$. Then to play the devil's advocate, if AI will work, what would we be missing in NOT getting Art CAM? We're trying to figure out what'll work best - we don't want to cut corners, but don't want to waste our resources either. Any feedback would be appreciated.

mikejohn
07-12-2005, 05:44 AM
John
There are a number of plug ins for Illustrator to .dxf. Here (http://www.kandusoftware.com/products/windows/dxfexportaipi.html) is just one. I have no experience of it so am not reccomending it particularly. At $99 its a cheaper alternative to ArtCam.
Illustrator is Vector Graphics, so theoretically if you can draw it, you can cut it.
I always add when discussing software, not to be seen as promoting any particular method, what works for you is the right solution.
................Mike

elcruisr
07-12-2005, 06:32 AM
John,
A great deal depends on what you are planning on doing with your machine. The application will determine the tools you need. Base your decision on that instead of trying to pinch a few dollars because in some cases that will cost you in the end. The tactics you are asking about are perfectly fine in some instances. In my case I needed fast, often complex toolpathing but not 3-d so I used Artam Insignia. I tried PW for about two months and made the change and it saved me thousands in productivity over the last three years. You may or may not need that. What are you planning to do with your machine?

Eric

scott_smith
07-12-2005, 12:35 PM