PDA

View Full Version : Cutting 3mm Komatex/Sintra?

billp
02-15-2005, 02:38 PM
Has anyone had luck in cutting out parts in 3mm PVC foam board (Komatex/Sintra by trade name)? I have a couple of full sheets to cut parts out of, and in my first test cut I used both a spiral upcut .125" bit, ( lifted the piece continuously, and cut through a few "tabs/bridges"when it did), and a .125"two flute straight bit which left a LOT of swarf ( yes it's a real word...) in the groove. I am going to try and order a spiral downcut, but of course that won't be here until tomorrow. In the interim I'm wondering if there are any other tricks people know of...Thanks

Ken Brisk (Unregistered Guest)
02-15-2005, 04:37 PM
Bill,

I have used good old carpet tape. Worked well.
Good luck.

billp
02-15-2005, 05:08 PM
Ken,
Thanks. I may have to go that route, problem being there are 80 pieces to each sheet being cut out,and there are 6 sheets to cut.....
I've thought of "scribing" all the parts with a thin pass to determine where everything should be, and then going with the tape and hoping for the best. Of course I'm trying to automate as much of this as possible so I don't have to remove/add 80 pieces of tape with each run. But that might still be easier than screwing into the spoilboard, and then watching the pieces flip flop anyway.
I've got the client coming to the shop tomorrow to see what he thinks about the edge quality so far, and that could be the deciding factor ( it always amazes me how we tend to agonize over little ripples, and then the client says, "thats EXACTLY what I was looking for"....).

stevem
02-15-2005, 06:04 PM
Bill,

Get a pressure foot/dust collector to solve both the lifting and the swarf problems. A pressure foot will keep the sheet against the table even with the use of an upcut spiral bit. In addition, it keeps small parts for being thrown to the side at the end of the cut.

billp
02-15-2005, 06:37 PM
Steve,