PDA

View Full Version : Question about cutting two materials

johnm
05-02-2007, 07:38 PM
Folks -

Okay, have any of you ever heard of Kirei? It is a new panel good, wickedly expensive, Well over $200+ for a 3x6 panel. In an 80mm panel, it consists of 3 plies. The board is made of ag waste - sorghum stalks. We are doing simple cut throughs. But the distributor really couldn't tell me very much about how to rout it - their general guidelines are 2 flues, 20k rpm, but that's it.

Second question - have any of you done any V bit carving in Jarra (Red Eucalyptus)? We have a prospect that wants a sign cut using Jarra, and I've never worked it before.

Thanks for any assistance...

John

Brady Watson
05-02-2007, 09:08 PM
John,
That panel is over 3" thick and it will be a real bear to cut. If you are running an Alpha, you can get away with a 6" OAL, 4" CL 1/2" end mill. You'll need to set your Safe Z to no more than .5" and make sure it is set that low for Zzeroing....otherwise you'll top out the Z axis and get a motor/driver fault (and possibly lose position) You'll want to cut it in .25" passes to keep the tool from breaking or 'trailing' causing an off-spec part. Other than that, you should be good. For the heck of it, I would use a downcut to break thru the 1st layer of skin on the material (an 1/8" is good enough) then follow up with the end mill (upcut). This will give you little to no tear out on the faces of the panel.

For v-carving...Just try cutting it conservatively with small stepovers and stepdown values. This will go far in giving you a good cut in unchartered territory. You don't really want to go any faster than 2 IPS when v-caring anything...I like to run about 1.2,.7 depending on the size of the letters...The smaller the letter, the slower the cut. I would try 15,000 RPM as the baseline and adjust while it is cutting, watching for bogging or burning.

-B

johnm
05-03-2007, 12:59 AM
Brady/All