PDA

View Full Version : Cutting Plexiglass

handh
05-23-2007, 07:38 AM
Ok, I need to cut a piece of plexiglass, I am going to be cutting 1/10 of a inch thick material. I am using a onsrud single flute upcut bit, I need some advice on what speed for spindle and also move speed. This is my first time with plexiglass so any advice is helpful.

richards
05-23-2007, 12:22 PM
Jeff,

Onsrud has an excellent web site with recommendations for all kinds of plastics. You'll find the site at www.plasticrouting.com (http://www.plasticrouting.com). You'll probably want to start at about 18,000 RPM with a feed speed of about 1-1/2 ips to 2-1/2 ips.

paco
05-23-2007, 01:43 PM
I'm assuming you'll be using either a 1/8" CED or maybe a 1/4" CED.

The smaller the CED the faster you want to spin (RPM) but not anything above 18 000 RPM in Acrylics. For 1/8" CED I set 14 000 with a 1 O-flute tool and 12 000-13 000 RPM with a 1/4" CED depending on the shapes.

If you have a very good hold down and mostly straight cut (say rectangles), you can fee it up to 4-5"/sec. with a 1/4" CED and up to 3"/sec. with a 1/8" CED.

If you're doing odd shape (say letters), I suggest you go slower (down to 50% of the above). I'm basing that on a 1:1 Alpha... I can tell with the new geared motor; it's supposed to be better though you could feed faster even in curvy parts.

handh
05-23-2007, 11:10 PM
Thanks guys, I did the cut this morning. I used the 1 0 flute tool. I ran the spindle at 13000 rpm and used a 1/4" cutter and 2" a second. Everything turned out great, cut was smooth and the cutomer was very happy. The panels that I cut out was for panels to go on a screen door on a RV so that they could keep the air conditioner on and still see outside. It fit perfect.

geneb
06-22-2007, 10:20 AM
What exactly is a "1 O-flute" tool?

Is it this?
http://www.plasticrouting.com/Products.asp?Action=View&ID=1493&Page=Material

tnx!

g.

paco
06-22-2007, 10:29 AM