PDA

View Full Version : How do you re-align your sign blanks in shopbot?

Call-Tech
09-13-2005, 07:33 AM
I am new to shopbot, just got mine a couple of months ago and I am just beginning to learn how to use it.

I have read much in these forums about methods of painting and masking signs before engraving text and flourishes. (thanks everyone for all the great info)

So now that I have cut out some blanks in various sizes and shapes and painted them, and applied mask. How do you get the blanks lined up right to cut your text and maybe a boarder just inside the edge of the blank?

PS. this is just practice, I have not attempted to sell any jobs for bot yet.

rookie432
09-13-2005, 08:31 AM
Fred,

Try cutting out your blanks. Then find the direct center of the blank. Then when you design your signs in your software design from the center of the shape. XY Zero at the center of your blank and cut your file.
I do this for most of my files instead of XYzero at the lower left corner beacuse it is easier to find the center of the material than to get an exact coordinate on the lower left corner.

Bill

gerald_d
09-13-2005, 09:20 AM
Wouldn't it be better to "cut the blank" at the end, out of the same program, with the x,y not having moved? Until then you can have screws going through the waste edge.

Call-Tech
09-13-2005, 10:24 AM
Maybe I am confusing myself here, I am used to large format printing and then cutting out prints on vinyl cutter. I have alignment marks that print on prints and are then used to realign x,y in cutter.