PDA

View Full Version : Double Line Fonts

park_pickering@ncsd.k12.wy.us
04-19-2001, 11:32 AM
I am working on using turbo cad to make some simple signs. I am a high school teacher and have had my machine for about 3 months. My problem is when I explode the fonts in TC and import to sbp I get double lines instead of one. The machine traces around the outside of the letter. While it does work it messes up the spacing or leaves a ridge in the middle.

Any thoughts will be greatly appreciated.

Park Pickering
park_pickering@ncsd.k12.wy.us (mailto:park_pickering@ncsd.k12.wy.us)

Robin
04-19-2001, 11:41 AM
This is a standard problem. For an inexpensive solution you can try:

1. to find single line (stroke) fonts
2. "fill" the insides of your letters with hatching (search the forum's archives for details)
3. use a vbit and the great typeset program:
ftp://ftp.shopbottools.com/Utilities/typeset.zip

Even a basic CAM package will have solutions for this, don't you have Vector?

jkforney@yahoo.com
04-19-2001, 02:56 PM
Park
Try using Vector Cadcam that came with the shopbot. I have used it for years and I have never had the problem you describe. It also writes native shopbot code and does not require translation. If you want to use Turbo cad I would email Bill Pulumbo. He's my guy for turbo cad.

John Forney
P.s. Try Vectorcam.com and look under Vfontz and Vcarvz. They are 3d v grooved centline font and closed shaped dxf file programs. The have 30 day non crippled demos.

danhamm@abccom.bc.ca
04-19-2001, 07:08 PM
Park,
There are quite a few TTfonts single line,that engrave quite nicely with a 1/8 straight or V-tip
plunge bit,,. if you are going to use ordinary fonts, most are 2 line use a 1/2 or 3/4 in. round over bit at the depth of the round over..this will give you a nice carved look without all the fuss.. Dan

park_pickering@ncsd.k12.wy.us
04-20-2001, 04:45 PM