PDA

View Full Version : Spoilboard - Double Stick Tape?

ryan_slaback
08-11-2006, 10:34 AM
I notice a lot of posting regarding methods of holding down the spoilboard. I work in a school and there is a very real possibility that a student will plunge too far or in some other way cause the router to hit a fastener. I know that there are plastic screws available but I was curious if I could just use a few strips of carpet tape. I know that can be used for part hold down. Is there any reason I can't use it to hold down my spoilboard too?

mikejohn
08-11-2006, 11:36 AM
I have a 3/4" table, bolted dpwn with inset coach bolts, with a MDF spoil board glued on top.
When the spoil board is new, you can plunge an inch without the fear of touching anything.
Having said all that, I guess sufficient double sided tape would work.

................Mike

Brady Watson
08-11-2006, 11:36 AM
Ryan,
Glue the spoilboard to the base board. After you surface it to the point that it is getting thin, just glue down another sheet (MDF, Medex, whatever) and you don't need mechanical fasteners. Plus, the spoilbard will stay flatter than if you had used screws alone. A 1/2 gal of wood glue will do the trick.

-Brady

paul_z
08-11-2006, 04:07 PM
Ryan,

I made a stupid mistake when I glued the latest piece of spoilboard onto my table. I didn't make sure the glue was all the way to the edge and there was a small void at the edge going in about 1". This wouldn't have been a problem except that's precisely were I use a lot of clamps and the clamping force would deform the edge and tip or deform the part to be cut. I had to drill a bunch of holes and force glue in where it should have been. Take Brady's advice; use lots of glue and get it all of the way to the edges.

Paul Z

PS MDF really sucks up the glue. If it looks like you have barely enough, then you've got about half of what you'll need.

pete
08-11-2006, 09:10 PM
Ryan