PDA

View Full Version : Shopbot reliability??

jsatter@neandertech.com
11-09-2003, 02:42 AM
Hello i am looking to purchase a cnc router in the near future and i hve a few questions. How reliable is the shopbot as far as the steppers and the software? I guess what i am saying is does the machines very often go "haywire" and scrap parts? I need a router that is electronically stable and proofed out. Also are these machines capable of 3d machining such as cutting concave chair seats and cutting circles? I have ran cnc machines that were servo powered but i am new to the stepper motors , do they lose steps often ? Thanks for any info

rgbrown@itexas.net
11-09-2003, 09:22 AM
Jeremy,

First, I need to emphasize my experiences are on an OLD ShopBot. There have been a lot of improvements since mine was cobbled together with UniStrut, screendoor rollers and home-built gearboxes. Improvements are constant on these machines, they take care of problems when they arise.

Nearly all of my problems have been "Operator Error". I have blown-up and burned boards, I have had employees ruin boards. I dropped a stepper-motor and bent a shaft - the stepper eventually failed. Only the stepper failing - it was on the "Z" axis, caused a part failure.

I had some problems with "lost steps". Once the screendoor rollers were replaced with REAL bearings, that problem evaporated, for the most part. The next occurrence of failed steps happened when the gear-racks needed grease. All other "lost step" problems were all mine - failing to turn the router on in time, a broom leaning against a rail and locking the "X" carriage- brilliant things like that. When the steppers jump phase, there is usually a reason not related to the design, like running into a clamp.