PDA

View Full Version : Can a Shopbot produce this level of detail?

luger
03-12-2007, 08:07 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm a photographer planning to produce low relief photographs. I have found a program, VS3D, that produces excellent 3D reliefs from grayscale images very easily and is apparently compatible with Shopbot, exporting shopbot files.

My question is, can the shopbot machine reproduce the level of detail you can see in the attached images?

The numbered scale along the sides of the images is in inches, giving you an idea of the size. The relief height is 1/8th of an inch (or around 3mm) and the final dimensions of the piece would be appox 16 inches x 24 inches (these images are cropped into the original image quite a lot).

I am concerned that I might be left with machine lines or grooves in the surface, or maybe the machine simply can't reproduce this level of resolution? I don't want to finish the final piece by hand with sandpaper or anything that will remove the fine detail in the relief, so it must come off the shopbot in finished condition I guess. I am hoping an extremely small bit size will achieve the perfect quality, maching time is not an issue but quality of finish most definitely is!

I am planning to purchase a machine, but only if I know it can perform this job. I have seen less detailed reliefs produced on the website with impressive quality, so I am hoping I will be in luck! Once I have made the relief I will create a mold from it to cast the final peices in various materials. I would be extremely gratefull for any advice, help or ideas!

Ben

bleeth
03-12-2007, 08:28 PM