Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Backup UPS...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Habitat For Bats, Jackson GA
    Posts
    2,101

    Question Backup UPS...

    What would happen if I placed a UPS on the 110V portion of the shopbot controller? I know the 220V side would go down. Would there be an advantage, added protection, easier resume? I've been pondering that question.

    We had a recent series of power glitches, a series of about 6 of them. It just kept chattering with the power pops, they were so fast. It finally disconnected and everything stopped.

    Anyone done that? Ideas? Opinions?

    /RB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    cnc routing, portland or
    Posts
    3,623

    Default

    well if you want protection for brownouts or surges I can see it. but having the cnc still runnig but the router/spindle stopping would not be good.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Hendersonville NC
    Posts
    525

    Default

    Robert,

    I have the same power glitches in my area and are convinced one of the best (and least expensive) ways to go is to install a magnetic switch in the supply circuit. You can get them rated for both voltages. Any voltage drop and everything goes dead until you choose to restart. Also can double as an additional emergency stop.

    See the post near the end of this page:

    http://www.talkshopbot.com/forum/sho...?t=3005&page=4

    Tim

Similar Threads

  1. UPS Battery Backup?
    By rb99 in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-23-2017, 10:36 AM
  2. Copy files and backup settings
    By khaos in forum Developers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2016, 12:39 PM
  3. Do You Backup?
    By harryball in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 12-07-2013, 09:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •