Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Support for Windows XP will expire

Exclamation Support for Windows XP will expire

The Support for Windows XP will expire in the near future according to the news I have read and heard.

All new computers are sold with Win 7.0. When is ShopBot going to get certified for Win 7.0 and get rid of the confounded dropped Comm problems?

I have read numerous threads about the dropped Comm problems and I have had more than my fair share of them.

Also saying than Win 7.0 will emulate XP is not the solution. Some new computers with Win 7.0 are not equipped to do the emulation.

George D Kelly
    Running PRSalpha 48 X 48

I have been using my laptop with windows XP since 2006 on my bot with absolutely no problems. Have you eliminated the possibility that it is a hardware issue as opposed to a software problem?

I guess the question is will the shopbot software run on windows 7 or not. Has anyone tried it?
    Ron Moorehead
    R&S Design
    ShopBot PRS Aphla 48 by 96
    Laserpro Explorer 30 watt
    Universal Laser 50 watt
    3D printer

Quote Originally Posted by myxpykalix View Post
    I have been using my laptop with windows XP since 2006 on my bot with absolutely no problems. Have you eliminated the possibility that it is a hardware issue as opposed to a software problem?
    I have tried everything that was suggested by SB and the Forum members, except reset the Sun to aim the Solar Flares towards Deep Space.

One thing that I have yet to do open the Spindle Speed Controller box to see if the USB board/line has fallen from the sticky pad mounts and onto something that would cause problems (hard to reach from my wheelchair).

I did however disconnect that USB line from the Hub and that eliminated quite a few problems, but not entirely. Of course with the speed control USB line disconnected I have no software control on the RPM's

George D Kelly