Thread: Sign Blanks?

Default Sign Blanks?

I needed some help. I am only a CNC hobbyist (dont own a CNC business) and I have made several projects since i got a CNC in 2008. I did'nt really want to venture out into cutting expensive wood sheets until i knew what i was doing. I have only used 24" x 36" pine sheets they sell at your local home centers. My experience with making signs of pine has been some good and some bad but i believe its now time to step up the quality ladder.

I have absolutely no wood working experience prior to the CNC and am finding it difficult to find anywhere sheets of domestic wood in the 24" x 36" size range since i have a shop bot buddy. My first question is, is wood like cherry, maple, oak, cedar, walnut available in that size range? If so where and how can i get it? - I live in Orlando, FLorida
    If not, how do i go about gluing up boards of cherry to make the 24" x 32" size. Not all my work is that big, but i am sitting on a request to make a sign that big.

What would be a good speicies of wood to start of with?
    I would appreciate all the help i could use as an amateur.

Default Cedar blanks

I've had good luck with these pre made sign blanks. They can be shipped anywhere in the country by any sign supplier.
    http://www.allwoodsignblanks.com/
    "Share your knowledge. It is a way to achieve immortality"...The Dalai Lama

"Nothing is really work unless you would rather be doing something else....." Sir James Barrie

Most cabinet door manufacturers would be happy to make glued up panels, already sanded and ready to carve. Look for one or two that are closest to you. Not to take the enjoyment out of it, but I find I can buy panels for much less than I can make them when you include the labor.

I have had luck with http://www.wooddealsonline.com/ just click on the wood you want on the list to the right and it will bring up all the wood on EBay that’s up for sale. It’s must faster than searching on EBay itself.