Thread: New SB Desktop – not a machine person. Help?

Default New SB Desktop – not a machine person. Help?

Hey Shopbotters,
    I just received my new Shopbot Desktop! Woa! I am setting up now.

All I am using this machine for is one type of project: I will be carving detailed, photo-based, low reliefs into acrylic sheets (It's an odd project – the carvings will function as molds that I will make casts from.)
    Relief Depth: 1/4 in.
    Size: just under 18x24 in.
    Bit Size: 1/8 in.

I am a computer graphics person. So the software part is easy for me. It's the mechanical, physical, and material issues that are intimidating.
    Please bear with me on such basic questions, as I have zero experience with tools, bits, routers, cnc, etc.

Questions:

1. What's the best way to set up and attach a spoilboard to the t-slot base that the desktop comes with? Do I just bolt a piece of 1/2" MDF to the t-slot? Anything I should watch out for?

2. I don't have a vacuum system, how should I hold down the material? Do I need downward pressure, or do I just have to worry about side to side movement? Can I just screw a few scraps of MDF around the edges of the acrylic sheet to keep it in place? Should I clamp instead?

3. The machine time is going to be crazy – the test I had fabricated took 15 hours to get the detail I needed. I need the detail, but is there another material that I could cut faster?

Thanks so much.
    I've already received many great insights from the forum.

Best,
    Daniel

Hi Daniel
    yes you can just screw a piece of MDF in place. Make sure you countersink the screws as deep as possible so you don't have to worry about hitting them while you are cutting.
    learned that one the hard way. I am guessing the acrylic is thin . you might be better off using double stick tape to hold your parts. don't use carpet tape it is to thick and squishy.
    I use a film tape from Shuretape DP 050
    http://www.shurtape.com/Default.aspx...&ProductID=150