Thread: Z axis capabilities

nickem@geowood.com Guest

Default Z axis capabilities

I am a sculptor. I use mostly wood. I am a machine designer by trade and am familiar with 3D design software such as SolidWorks and Autodesk Mechanical Desktop.

My questions regarding the capabilities of a ShopBot are as follows:
    Many of my sculptures begin as a cube. 4" up to 10". I would like to know what is the maximum height that I can consider when designing a piece which requires boring (milling) down to atleast half way down in such a cube.

Also, what processes can I consider for fabricating a (close to perfect) cube.
    Thanks in advance,
    Nick

Although Shopbot can build a machine with a Z-axis length to match your specifications, to me, the greater question is what kind of bit/cutter are you planning to use to make that deep of a cut? A 'standard' cutter might have a cutting length of less than 2-inches. If you went much deeper than that, with that particular cutter, the router/spindle would get in the way. Using a cutter with a 5-inch cutting length would be 'interesting' to use, with the flexing/breakage possible with a long cutter running at router speeds.

As to your second question about fabricating a perfect cube, I'm still looking for that solution myself.

-Mike

Hi Nick!

4 first sides are not a problem; within 0.010" - 0.020"... it's the 5th and 6th side that need some gig/indexing/thinking... miter saw is good for this purposes; at least for the 5th side...

As for larger than 5-6" (depends on your Z installation/setup), one need a custom Z rail(s).

Hi Nick!