Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Partworks Tool Path ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Towson MD
    Posts
    107

    Default Partworks Tool Path ?

    I'm confused about the toolpaths generated by Partworks. I expected them to be entirely Open SBP, but it seems that's not the case.

    Below is a snippet of my tool path and it has several commands that don't appear in my command reference. Specifically the TR and the "C" commands. What language are these commands? Are they documented somewhere?

    Thanks


    IF %(25)=1 THEN GOTO UNIT_ERROR 'check to see software is set to standard
    SA 'Set program to absolute coordinate mode
    TR, 14000
    '
    'Toolpath Name = Pocket 1
    'Tool Name = Straight 1/2" 48-072
    &Tool =4 'Jog Z axis to safe height
    c9
    TR,14000
    C6 'Return tool to home in x and y
    PAUSE 2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    3,388

    Default

    Jim...
    Those commands are ShopBot code.

    TR,***** sets the spindle rpm
    C* or CN,** runs a custom cut file (like the C2 to home x&y or the C3 to zero the z

    You will notice that there are a number of errors, at least in the text notation in some of the later postP's such as in your example.

    the remark on the "&tool=" line is an error
    the remark after the "C6" is also an error. The C6 should callup the MTC or ATC "ON" file. Which would start a spindle or router

    The help menu will give access to some of the latest docs.
    Gary Campbell
    GCnC Control
    GCnC411(at)gmail(dot)com
    Servo Controller Upgrades
    http://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1


    "We can not solve our problems with the same level of thinking that created them"
    Albert Einstein


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Towson MD
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Gary,

    I looked for the commands in my written documentation and on the http://www.opensbp.com/ site and could'nt find them. That's why I'm confused. I figured the TR command was a spindle RPM command but wanted to see the full details of the command.

    The help menu that you mentioned, is that in the shopbot control program? If so I'll look there for the latest command documentation once I set up my Bot computer. I'm still in the soundproofing and wiring phase of my Buddy install.

    As to the errors, will any of these errors prevent the part from being cut? I did notice that some of the comments in my tool path looked wrong.

    Thanks for your help.
    Last edited by archis; 01-12-2011 at 07:08 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Marquette, MI
    Posts
    3,388

    Default

    Jim...
    Yes, acces the help from the SB3 console top menu. There may be more if you look on the ShopBot website, Look for documentation.

    Those erroneous remarks will not cause any problems, just may confuse a new user.
    Gary Campbell
    GCnC Control
    GCnC411(at)gmail(dot)com
    Servo Controller Upgrades
    http://www.youtube.com/user/Islaww1


    "We can not solve our problems with the same level of thinking that created them"
    Albert Einstein


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    , Richmond Tx
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    Jim,

    Does your Buddy have an auto tool changer and a spindle with speed control board on it?

    If yes, then thats fine.

    If no, then you can choose a different post processor that won't put the other information in there.
    Kenneth

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Towson MD
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Ken,

    It's a brand new Buddy Alpha with the HSD spindle, so I assume it has the speed control board.

    Is there a tool changer for the Buddy?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    , Richmond Tx
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    If you didn't pay 15 thousand extra it won't have a tool changer. Actually, I don't think they offer it on the buddy, but I wasn't sure of that. The files that have tool change info will have the C6,C7, and C9 commands. Those are cutting off the spindle, changing tools, and restarting the spindle.

    The speed control for the spindle is an option. Not a standard thing that comes with a spindle.

    It won't work with a porter cable router, but if you bought yours with a spindle you can order the speed control board for it.
    Kenneth

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    84

    Default Command Reference at www.shopbotdocs.com

    You can find a description of the ShopBot commands in the Command Reference for the ShopBot Control Software and OpenSBP Language
    at http://www.shopbotdocs.com/Command-reference.html

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Towson MD
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Thanks for the info on the Speed control Board, I didn't order that but it looks like it not too expensive.

    Without the speed control board, are there any commands that work with the spindle?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    , Richmond Tx
    Posts
    1,091

    Default

    Turning the spindle on and off is all you can do without the speed board. You manally set the speed at the vfd.

    I wouldn't worry about getting one until you have some time on the machine. Then if you need or want it, you will know why.
    Kenneth

Similar Threads

  1. Drilling path from Sketchup Vcarve 7.5 or Partworks
    By magazines in forum ShopBotter Message Board
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-03-2014, 05:02 PM
  2. 3D tool path
    By angelosart in forum Techniques for Cutting, Drilling, Machining
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-13-2013, 08:57 AM
  3. Partworks 3D and partworks tool database different
    By shaun in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2013, 10:57 AM
  4. Partworks running slow with simple path preview
    By plemon in forum VCarvePro and PhotoVCarve
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2010, 07:19 AM
  5. Tool Path
    By jimmya in forum Archives2008
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-17-2008, 05:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •