Thread: Photos on Web

Default Photos on Web

I recently had a client who asked me to take down photos of his kitchen but I started reading about this and my question is: do I really have to comply? From what I read, it is only if you show the house number or show somebody's face. It seems to be a very grey area. I think that if it is your design, then it is your art. It is like a painting. Somebody can own a painting but the artist can have a copy and show it as his or her portfolio. Customers can't own your designs. Or I could be wrong. Any thoughts?

Before the bottom dropped out of the market a lot of my work was refitting yacht interiors. Not a single owner would let me take photos of the work onboard their yachts.

I always took the view that photographs were of their property so they had every right to refuse.

I am NOT a lawyer, but a retired photographer. In the US the copywrite stays with the artist, since a law change in the 1980s. But ticking off a client has it's obvious downside risks. I believe your situation is the same as a photographer selling a print for a wall, but unless it is explicitly transferred the intellectual rights stay with the photogRapher
    Last edited by bob_s; 01-23-2011 at 05:42 PM. Reason: Typo

I usually agree with Bob, but not in this case. The picture was of the clients property. And most likely taken in his home. If this was done without his express permission, then take them off the web. The "work" and the picture are separate items in this case.

Like Adrian, we always ask prior to taking pictures, about half, especially marine woodwork, decline. We always honor the customers wishes. They are much too valuable to irritate.

Knowing that we are often refused the ability to take picture of the completed installations, we sometime take pics in the shop that show details or features. These are kept in a portfolio in the shop, occasionally shown to customers with similar tastes or questions, but never placed online.