Thread: Programming no-no?

Default Programming no-no?

I'm new to this file programming for my bot, but I discovered that I needed to be more careful with the words I use in creating a file. Hopefully, my experience will save some other poor soul the pain I went through.

I made a file to do a repeated cut, previewed it, and it looked good. Upon trying it out on my bot, the file seemed to become possessed and started to change the position midway through the file. Long story short, after pouring over the file for a couple of wasted days to try and figure out why it was changing position I discovered that I used the word "Start:" to commence the sub routine of doing the actual cutting.

I have since found out that the reason for the change in position was because of the first two letters in "Start" were the same for the command [Settings,Table] which changed the table coordinates to the point where the spindle was at the time, and not Absolute coordinates any more. After reading some of the forum solutions on repeating cuts in files, a better word was "Begin" which doesn't use any letters which may be mistaken for a command by the controller.

I hope this will help someone else down the road in avoiding the pain that one little word can inflict. BTW, is there someplace I can look to find a list of correct words for commands to use in creating SB files??

Cheers...

"Go To" is commonly used syntax before a sub-routine location as well.

OMG all these years and I've never stumbled upon that one or heard of it happening to any else. How frustrating that must have been. Thanks for the heads up. I have had similar issues using variable names within a file that turn out to be used by SB in some behind-the-scenes file, or worse, using the same variable name in more than one file, and calling one file from within another, and then wondering why it's not behaving as expected.