Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hard Coats, what's the best?

Smile Hard Coats, what's the best?

I have been scrounging for many, many months for the best ways to hard coat foam. I create a lot of 2D and 3D foam props for outdoor use. I've studied a lot of different methods, but haven't quite found the best one to use yet. I know there's A LOT of very knowledgeable members on this site who have many years of experience behind them. I'd love to pick your brains a little on various methods.

Quick background- many of our props are moved throughout the year. They get dinged, dropped, smashed, etc. They also sit outdoors all year long. I make the props out of various materials, depending on the application (wood frame, metal/emt tube, pink or blue foam board, beaded foam, great stuff, polyurethane foam, paper mache, joint compound, plaster, fiberglass, etc). I really would like to find the best way to hard coat these 'sculptures'. The general public usually are not close enough to contact the props, however, at times they might be.

I live in AZ- the summer temps and heat are extreme, but is also exposed to freezing/cold and wet weather throughout the year. Most props that sit outdoors year round end up weathered and destroyed within 1-2 years. The only way around it I've found is Fiberglass- which, is too expensive and time/energy intensive to do.

Here's some of the methods I've found, and some info on them as to why they may or may not work. Please feel free to correct me if I am misguided on some of these things.

Fiberglass
    Pros: very hard and good enough for structural use and contact w/ public. Not affected by weather.
    Cons: Expensive, very labor intensive when you consider multiple layers, sanding/prepping for paint, etc. May have to prime/coat before if the medium under it will be eaten by the resin.

StyroSpray 1000
    Pros: Cheap in comparison. Easy to apply with brush, roller, or spray w/ hopper gun.